WASHINGTON — A list of schools that will be shuttered next year has been released by the U.S. Department of Education.

The list, released Friday, includes schools across the country and includes the largest school districts, which includes the majority of public school districts in the U: Los Angeles, New York City, Chicago, Washington, D.C., Atlanta, Chicago suburbs and the San Francisco Bay Area.

It also includes schools that were formerly part of the National Association of School Administrators, but were removed in the 2016-17 school year, which could result in the loss of a school, said Matthew Oakes, associate director of the UAW Local 613.

Oakes said the closure of the school systems would result in more than 500 school closures in the coming year.

Olympia Community College will close on May 31.

The College of DuPage, located in South Milwaukee, will close March 27.

The University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, is also on the list.

The school district was formed in 2009 to help support community college students.

It is unclear how many schools will close, but the list does not include all schools.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.